Former Marine Gets Back In the Saddle

I am a 47 year old former Marine who is now a teacher and an coach of three sports. I have been lifting off and on for 30 years. I have never been a huge lifter nor have I ever been considered a skinny guy. I was athletic all of my life but I have suffered a couple of setbacks recently and it has become more and more challenging to continue with my athletic lifestyle. I had knee reconstruction a couple years ago and I also have a herniated L5/S4 (probably from squatting too heavy). Having said that I have been really good about lifting when I am not in season. Winter, for me, is easy…fall (football) and spring (track) are the challenging times.

I struggle with eating clean…the Italian in me likes to eat! :slight_smile: So I am heading back to the gym after a 2 1/2 month period off. My goal is to get back to about 15% BF. (currently I am about 23%, I will post an exact measurement later). I will begin my workouts with a one day on/one day off, push pull routine. I will implement cardio(@ 30-45 min)5 times a week which because of my knee will mainly be on the elliptical.

Here is where I need the advice…eating! I work from 7:30 in the morning until 6-7 in the evening (in season). I have a hard time planning and preparing enough food to carry me through the day. I don’t drink and I don’t smoke…my only hang up is Diet Pepsi! LOL So any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am considering following the Paleo Diet do any of you have feedback on that? Thanks in advance…I will post before pictures in the near future.

Semper Fi,

Two years ago in Cabo…

These two pictures are two yeas old and I am a not quite at this point any more but I figure this is a good base line…or reference to get back to.