T Nation

Form Checks: Bench, Squat, Dead

I can only videotape from head on / slight angle in my basement, so sorry for the angles. I’m new to powerlifting, about 4-6 months in of training, and I bounced programs during that time from a beginner program to 5/3/1 to just a regular linear 5x5 program, which I modified just slightly to get used to heavy weights.

Bench:

Although you cant’ really tell, my rear stays on the bench, head doesn’t move either. I have been trying to remember to do more paused style benching to simulate a meet and them barking commands, but I also forget most the time.

Squat:

I’m close on depth. I have a thread started already on depth, it’s real close but hard to tell from the angle. I’ve been trying to work on more staying tight to avoid the leaning forward / good morning squat combo type lift.

Here’s are couple dead videos:

I had to take about 3 months off of dead training due to lower back injuries (which is a repeater of mine, was injured for about 10 years before getting fixed). My deadlift is so odd to me recently. I pulled 465 in October, but now can barely muster 435. I dunno if its from my injury, or if I pulled 465 with bad form, and now I use good form, or what.

One thing I’d like to question is on my deads, my first lift is always much harder than my 2nd lift if I’m doing reps. I don’t think I bounce the bar at all, so let me know if I am bouncing.

If I’m not, please shed some light as to why it is that much more difficult. I think it will prevent me from getting better deadlift results.

Here are some deadlift videos from a side angle. Let me know what you think

This last one took me forever to get comfortable, and is pushing my max weight.

[quote]dzirkelb wrote:
One thing I’d like to question is on my deads, my first lift is always much harder than my 2nd lift if I’m doing reps. I don’t think I bounce the bar at all, so let me know if I am bouncing.