T Nation

Form Check - SQ, BP, DL

Hi nation,

I have been doing Starting Strength for 3 months and I finally decided to shoot my working sets (and some warmup in DL). Before SS I did some beginner training with dumbbells, so this is my first true experience with the big 3. I am training alone, so I will be grateful for any comments about my technique.

Wow tons of videos lol.

Ok, in order.

Squat) I just watched the first video. It is hard to tell a lot of things from a very low camera angle, so if you can find one a bit higher in the future that would be especially helpful. You break the hips first: good. You keep the back flat: good. You hit depth as far as I can tell from the camera angle with the plates and rack in the way: great.

Things to think about: 1) you need to stand UP with the weight–you never actually lock any of the reps out at the top! You are even unracking and bringing the bar out and standing there with your hips chambered back instead of upright. This adds to the tension on your back and creates some fatigue, but mostly just really interferes with the necessary glute action that should be trained in a proper squat. Also if you watch the end of the barbell you can see it sinking down and slightly forwards as you come down into the hole. The bar needs to trace a straight path. It does not, and this means either 1) your chest is lowering in the hole 2) your hips are not being pushed back far enough, or 3) your knees aren’t pushing out far enough. Or some combination of those.