Form Check: Incline Bench Press

Hey guys, I would like a review regarding my incline bench press. I am new to the exercise and it has proven to be difficult weight wise (weight in videos is my 13 or 14 RM push press) and form wise. My concern is about the amount of elbow flare that I have and I would like to know if it is a problem or if I am overthinking this.

Kinda of a weird form check but let’s give it a go.

Are your goals with the incline bench performance/ strong man oriented?

Firstly it’s useless to compare incline bench and push press.

One is a measure of how much you can press through full ROM using your pecs, front delts and triceps while the other is a a measure of how much momentum you can generate with your lower body and lock out with your upper body with a little less chest emphasis.

Tbh your amount of elbow flare/tuck looks fine. Actually looks good to me. Many people flare too much.

If you are strong this way then bench this way. If you are stronger with a bit more flare, a bit less or with different grip widths then bench that way. If you do your competition lifts/events with a certain grip width due that way as its more specific and should carryover better.

Peeps have problems with elbows flare because its shifts load to the shoulders and puts the shoulders in an internally rotated position while abducted which can lead to shoulder impingement and other issues. This is on the flat bench tho. With an incline bench your shoulders/arms are in a different position which makes this less of an issue.

Probably keep your head down when benching. Might be habit for you but its a habit worth breaking. It leaks power and messes with the nice solid pressing base you have. You may see it around a lot in some strong dudes but it’s still a bad habit they’ve gotten strong in spite of it and whether or not it costs them some pounds who knows.

I fully agree, I felt I could benefit from it though.