T Nation

Form Check for Pull-Ups

Hi y’all,

I’ve heard different things about pull-up form, but mainly I’ve heard that mine isn’t so good lol. Here’s a video of me doing 26 (probably getting progressively worse as time goes by!). Just tell me where things start to go astray (even if it’s the first one, lol:

Thank you!

Brian

You didn’t attach the video. The best way to go about sharing video content is to upload it to YouTube and share the link

1 Like

Not seeing it. Dare I say… there was a messup.

The easiest way to out up a vid is to just post the Youtube URL, no embed code needed.

My apologies guys!! I uploaded it to YouTube but in all the excitement of joining a new forum I forgot to actually link to it🙄. You all will learn why I’ve been using Messup as my username for the last several years soon enough lol.

Thank you for your patience, and I’ve edited the post above!

Wider grip, don’t jerk yourself up and don’t come to a dead hang at the bottom. Keep some tension in you lats at the bottom and start the pull with the lats. Don’t wave your legs around, try to keep them under control.

for “good” form this is way too much kipping / swinging with the body
would place hands further appart and try to keep legs straight whilst bracing abs. go slower on the way down to keep control.

As has been mentioned, you kip a little bit too much, but I’d also say you’re dropping down a bit too quickly. As a whole, just aim to be more controlled throughout the whole movement.

Wow, this is like the biggest response I’ve had! Thank you for the opinions.

So less kipping, slower movement, wider grip. Admiteddly, this is like 18 months old, but i hadn’t filmed much of my pull-up stuff recently so I went with it. I’ll try to film myself this week and follow your advice and see what happens. I now have a bar that is equally grippy throughout, which is good, although unfortunately it is even lower to the ground and more slippery than the old grips I had :confused: