Forearms, Neck, and Calves

As winter comes these muscle groups (excluding calves) will be the few directly visible. Besides they are epic looking and I want to max them out.

Coach do you have any advice/special training or is it just a matter of throwing extra freq on these after the workouts?

I know your stance on calves. But how about neck & forearms (Thor hammer? Thick grip? hanging for time?)

How can we get these to HYPERTROPHY!

Merci

1 Like

I’ve been following a 6 day push/pull “best damn” template and have been doing 3 sets of wrist rollers every pull day. I would love some guidance on this too!

I’ve had some experience with neck/forearm work, especially neck for my boxing training. Here’s what I found to work best:

Neck:

1. Neck bridge. Get yourself in a bridge position resting on your head. Hold. If you get stronger at it, you can roll head front to back.
  2. neck harness. moderate weight for higher reps. I don’t go over 50 lbs attached to harness.
  3. Front neck raises (place towel over forehead, then weight plate. Lay on bench with head slightly over the back, and then nod up and down).

Forearms:

1. Towel hangs. Put towels over pull up bars and hang from them. As you improve, move to one are towel hangs. Also, towel pull ups.
  2. Fat Grip reverse curls. These are awesome for building forearm strength.

My neck has grown quite a bit by doing high rep neck curls,starting with bodyweight and working my way up to a 20 kg plate for 50

Take a look at this before you consider neck bridges

1 Like

Farmers walk works calves and forearm, hammer curls, fat grip curls. Some bodybuilding purest dont train neck is take away from shoulder width.