Forearm Training

I make something for my forearms training ( i need ) i would like to know if it is good

wrist curl supersets ( pronation-supination) 15-20 reps
Hammer curl (8-12 reps)
2 x time by week after my classic training house or rest day

Just its better to execute wrist curl supination standing ? or seated ? for make more safe and avoid the possibility of injury

thx

I’ve been lifting for 30 yrs and I can’t say that I’ve ever seen any results from forearm isolation exercises. I’m sure it’s an individual and/or genetic thing. Some men have a fairly large forearm bone structure and more forearm muscle naturally. Mine are small to begin with so maybe that’s why.
In the past year and a half though I’ve finally prioritized working on my pull up strength and I think that has done more good than anything else I’ve ever done. For many men just doing heavy gripping exercises may be the better way to go. Pull ups, deadlifts, shrugs with heavy dumbbells, etc. Save your energy for those types of exercises, especially for a beginner.

2 Likes

It is useful strength too. I used to rock climb (a bit of competitive climbing too), and that will increase size for most. I also had elbow issues a bunch while training for climbing.

2 Likes

grip work is absolutely a better way to build forearm strength and size than something like wrist curls. Wrist curls are utterly useless for this purpose.

3 Likes

i training for a time, of course not 30 year, i just stop a lot of time, because party, drinking, reading and so on, so i have some notion of bodybuilding and i read some book.
My forearms don’t progress, they don’t grow, and they a very long, somethime i really feel that they don’t follow the rest part of my body, and i know that if they grow up a bit, i can get more “power” and resistance, i want them more resistant, somethime i work hard in my life, and they are week i feel that, if i kick i feel that they my wrist a weak.