T Nation

For Those Who Made Their Own Training Program

I would like to hear from you. I am very interested in training theory and feel im just beginning to scratch the surface of a solid understanding of the subject. I don’t feel that I am at a point where I can successfully program myself but I would like to be there one day soon.

Please include as much info as possible. What was your training experience at the time? How did your lifts improve and how did you do at your next meet? What was your motivation behind choosing the movements, assistance, and structure of the program? What problems did you run into? And how would you rate your program up against the more popular training templates out there? Any and all input to this thread is appreciated.

Do what you need to do to improve. That’s all there is to it. When you do this long enough, you’ll get what I mean. I can only tell you two things that can never change. One is patience and the other is consistency. Honestly, programming is easy. It’s the diet and recovery that make the difference.

I try to do training programs I get off places like t-nation or coaches and then see what it feels like. You know that most of the programs work for a fair number of people so you’re likely not too far off.

After a while you will notice what feels good and what doesn’t. Don’t get confused between easy and good though. To me, biceps curls are easy and high rep squats are brutal, but GOOD. Some exercises feel better at higher reps (dips) but I don’t like the idea of doing more than 5-8 reps on deadlifts. I think some of those things are universal and a lot ist stuff you eventually find out.