T Nation

For Those Who Don't Know....

I started a thread a few days ago with a ridiculous “super” program that advocated ultra volume for a muscle group and then a huge rest period. As I suspected, everyone made a mockery of it. I was called everything from a beginner who shouldn’t post that kind of stuff on this board to crazy.

That being said, I was just experimenting outloud. I’ve never tried that kind of volume before. (Except for a brief period of time during which I tried to hit the elusive 1000 pushups a day, everyday.)

My real workout routine would look something like that–

Rows
Chest Press
Close-grip pull downs
Overhead press
Leg Presses

All exercises performed with a load that I could just barely pump out 10 reps before hitting muscle failure, and each exercise performed for a total of 25 reps in as many sets as is necessary to get the reps done.

As anyone can see, I actually don’t work out with a shit load of volume, but I have a fascination with volume training. I’m a huge fan of ultramarathon runners who put a hundred miles on their legs at a time, and I was really fascinated with Steve Justus’s book Rock, Iron, Steel, in which he advocates ocassionally performing marathon weight lifting sessions involving insane volume and then taking a good amount of time off. (He expressed the idea in the book that doing an ultravolume workout like that might be good right before a vacation, so you can rest on vacation and not worry too much about lifting.)