T Nation

For Those Wanting to Quit the Iron Game

This is a slightly modified copy of a post I felt like writing as a reply to a guy that wanted to quit the iron game. Felt like posting it around here, who knows, maybe will help a couple of newer members which are considering to quit the iron game think a little of what they are going to do.

'' Aight. First of all lemme tell ya this. I've only read through half of your post. Well lemme tell ya somethin'. I started lifting at 15 years old and quit the iron game when I was 17 since I had barely the time to eat, and what not due to a new job I got. Most of the times I ended up working overtime and had barely the chance of eating 3 solid meals a day.

Today I'm 20 years old, am slightly less busy. But when I look back I watch myself in the mirror and say these exact words

'WHAT A FUCKIN' PUSSY WITHOUT BALLS I WAS'

I loved the iron game, more then the pussy. I'm not kidding. The shear love of watching my body change, albeit slowly, as months passed was satisfying. Sure I'm no Hulk, I'm no friggin Ronnie Coleman, Hell I'm not even close to the mass and lifts most of the experienced users (5 years plus) have on these boards. But you know what?

I dont fuckin' care. Not even a little bit.

All I know is that lifting for me had been, and is again, a way of changing myself, both physically and mentally. The iron game is something I see as 'me versus the older me'. I challenge my old lifts, every time I'm in the gym. Sure we are humans, and heck I'm not exactly rich, I can't afford shit loads of steroids and the diet some pro bodybuilders have.

There was a time where I looked at those muscle magazines, adverts, adverts, adverts, and more adverts about supplements, super human workouts and all those big ripped guys with massive muscles with beautiful woman. And I was like

'Holy shit, how the hell did they get hyoge like diz?'