Footwear for Strongman

Hey guys,

I was wondering if some of the more experienced Strongmen could offer up some advice on footwear they use to train with and compete with. My flat-bottom shoes that I have been using for about 5 years are finally too dangerous to actually lift with, and I need to buy some new sneaks.

In the powerlifting forum I saw that Vibram Five Fingers were getting a good rep as well as the classic Chucks. Any other suggestions? Or any advice on which Vibram or Chuck to get?

Thanks guys, much appreciated.

-DTC

I wear the Vibram Five Fingers KSO and Chucks. But I’m mostly posting so I can subscribe and see what more experienced guys like to wear (I’ve only done 2 contests so far) I see some guys wearing a hiking boot type shoe for everything and when watching the WSM this year on TV, I noticed some of the guys were wearing what looked like regular cross trainers. I’ve even read that some people like to wear boots with a taller heel for stones.

J

So far I rock Chucks, barefoot, and some climbing shoes

Chucks for non-moving events. For moving events Saucony because they’re a nice sneaker that provides support and is good to run with, but isn’t to squishy that it absorbs my force or slows me down. Very few people do running events in chucks or vibrams.

[quote]musicma1n1 wrote:
… Very few people do running events in chucks or vibrams. [/quote]

i would not agree with that.
Chucks and/or Vibram 5s are all you’ll need really. Remember that in strongman running events hardly means any real running, more like quick walking with heavy load.

On that note, make sure they aren’t very wide. I foudn out the hard way. I was wearing BBall shoes when I did some farmers in a competition. I ended up clipping my heel with my other foot and went side stepping across the finish. Might have cost me a second or so, but with more weight in my hands, it could have ended badly…