Football Testing Results

My division-III college football team recently held its spring testing combine. Going into my sophomore season I was one of the most impressive athletes who tested. I started at linebacker last year as a freshman and will most likely do the same next year. I have been using T-Nation for about 4 or 5 months now doing different workouts by CT and Thibs. Here are my testing results for the spring combine:

Height: 5’11"
Weight: 200 - (Up 10lbs. from fall)

Squat: 350 x 8
Clean: 210 x 8 (easily - just started cleaning)
Agility (5-10-5): 4.43
40: 4.59 - top 5 (ran 4.62 in the fall when I was 10lbs. lighter!)
Bench: 225 x 11 (upset with my bench test because I chest very hard, other LB’s did almost 20 reps)
Vertical: 30"
Pull-ups: 15 - 1st place

A few goals for this coming season’s testing:

Weight: 205lbs.
Squat: 375 x 8
Clean 250 x 8
Agility 4.2
40: 4.5
Vertical: 31"
Pull-ups: 25
Bench: 225 x 15

I appreciate all of you reading this. I was wondering if you had any suggestions on how I could get more reps on the bench. Which exercises? I’ve been doing lots of flys which have made my chest bigger, but not necessarily stronger. I was planning on going back to more regular flat and incline work, as well as DB’s on a stability ball. I look forward to your responses.

• Ethan

as far as adding reps to your bench, the best thing you can do is work on your triceps. Odds are your chest is much stronger, so that’s not the limiting factor. add strength and endurance to the tris and you should see a substantial increase in bench reps.

[quote]throwloud wrote:
as far as adding reps to your bench, the best thing you can do is work on your triceps. Odds are your chest is much stronger, so that’s not the limiting factor. add strength and endurance to the tris and you should see a substantial increase in bench reps.[/quote]