Fools and the "Bad" Mixed Grip

Ever noticed how some people will just regurgitate nonsense?

I have been using a mixed grip for deadlifts for the last two years, and my right hand is always overhand.

I do not switch it up. Why? I have an old forearm injury that prevents my right arm from supinating.

From the beginning, everyone has told me how bad this is, and how I am begging for an injury.

Two years later and hundreds of deadlift lbs heavier I have no injuries and no strength or physical imbalances.

Yet for all the assholes who say you must switch up your grip, you would think everyone and their cousin must be getting serious imbalances and injuries from failing to switch up their mixed grip.

I saw an interesting little blurb on chimps a while back. Chimps and human children were given a puzzle task with a treat reward. The “solution” was demonstrated, and both the chimps and the kids learned it pretty quickly. However, when it was revealed that most of the steps toward the treat were unnecessary, the chimps cut to the end, but the human kids kept wasting their time doing the unnecessary steps.

Apparently humans are followers who do not challenge the things they have “learned” and chimps are more flexible and independent thinkers.

Twenty plus years of training and I have NEVER heard a powerlifter or other strength athlete agrue against a mixed grip or advocate switching back and forth-NEVER!
Bodybuilders maybe…

Those are some nice numbers for a guy just getting started-Good Luck at the qualifier!!

Plus, chimps are insanely good deadlifters.

[quote]Gael wrote:
Apparently humans are followers who do not challenge the things they have “learned” and chimps are more flexible and independent thinkers.[/quote]

I’d read an amusing real-world example of this somewhere.

A particular woman was in the habit of cutting off the ends of roasts as part of her family recipe.