T Nation

Followup Program to 20-Rep Squats

Hey guys, I’ve been reading quite a few articles on this site recently and I’ve read through most of the stickies on top. I’m still a beginner to weightlifting; this summer is the first time I really committed to the lifestyle, though last summer and throughout last year I went to the gym on and off.

There’s a lot of information out there about which programs work the best, and I felt quite overloaded but I finally decided about 5 weeks ago to start up the 20-rep squat program. I plan to take a week or two off lifting when I finish firstly because I’m moving to college around that time, and secondly I want to avoid overtraining.

FYI, I started with the bar plus 40 pounds, and next Friday I plan to finish the program with the bar plus 130 pounds. So far, I’ve gone from about 165 pounds to weighing 177 pounds.

Can someone recommend me a program that is a good follow-up to 20 rep squats? I’m thinking it might be a good idea to give squats a rest to give my knees a break. I’d like to improve my deadlift- it’s still very weak, and a program that focused on that would be great

I looked at the starting strength program, but it doesn’t seem too appealing because it mandates squats every workout, which I could use a break from.

Any advice is much appreciated!

I all depends on what your goals are.

I want to keep gaining weight. I’m definately not up to a weight where I should start dieting in my opinion, my bench is still weak as is my deadlift.

I would go for Rippetoes if it weren’t for 3 a week squatting which, as I said, I want to avoid.

I guess my #1 goal is improving my Deadlift, but it’s be nice to improve my bench a little bit too.