T Nation

Follow Program or Train By Feel?

Ive been lifting for a couple months, I fell from being fat to being skinny fat with absolutely no muscle tone. After several months of error. Sould I just follow a solid program or should I just focus on the main lifts and eat ?

A good program or some advice would help. Keep in mind Im 16, and I'm balancing school and work.

I’m not a bodybuilder technically so I won’t presume to suggest a specific program to you. I will say this though:

DEFINITELY get on a proven program in line with your goals. You said yourself you’ve only been in for a couple months. Going by feel works great for some folks, but generally that comes after about a decade or two of lifting and learning what does and doesn’t work for you.

In truth I have been lifting for nearly a decade and I have never followed a proposed program.

That being said I always read about stuff, borrow exercises, special sets and stuff like that and try it out, but I’ve always pieced it together on my own. I always though of it as a learning experience.

But as a beginner, go ahead and find one and follow it, and learn what you can.

[quote]csulli wrote:
I’m not a bodybuilder technically so I won’t presume to suggest a specific program to you. I will say this though:

DEFINITELY get on a proven program in line with your goals. You said yourself you’ve only been in for a couple months. Going by feel works great for some folks, but generally that comes after about a decade or two of lifting and learning what does and doesn’t work for you.[/quote]

Everytime I find a program I feel like some of the excersise require a gym. I lift at home, and only have a barbell and bench. I want to lift like the oldschool bodybuilders, they had minimal equiment so I put myself in the same situation.

Any programs you know about with that odlschool lifting template ?

[quote]c.m.l. wrote:
In truth I have been lifting for nearly a decade and I have never followed a proposed program.