Focusing on Pecs, Not Shoulders

Hi All,

Long time reader, not very often do I post though. As you can see I have been a member for quite some time now.

So, my question comes here: I have been lifting for roughly 5 years now. It seems I have never really been able to gain a whole lot on either my overall bench number (mainly flat bench because both my incline and decline numbers improved regularly).

My flat bench number is somewhat pathetic at 245. After I am finished working out and am sore, I hardly ever feel it in my pecs but almost always feel it in my front delts. Not only is the soreness in my delts, the overall mass is stupidly out of proportion.

My front delts almost dwarf my pecs. I do a small arch (larger arch with incline and decline mostly due to positioning on bench which comes naturally to me), I pinch my shoulder blades, I grip the bar like I am trying to bend it, but nothing seems to make a difference.

Anyone else have this problem? How did you fix it? I’ve always been vexed with this question and decided to finally ask the question.

Thanks guys,

Ian

It could be where you are gripping the bar. The closer the grip the more emphasis on the triceps and front delts, the wider the grip the more emphasis on the pecs. If you want you can add some dumbbell flys with your benching as they hit my chest very well.

I had the same problem a few years ago. What I did was widen my grip, pull shoulders back and down and have a slight arch. Did the trick for me

I had the same problem. Concentrating on the “mind muscle connection” will work but you wont be able to use as much weight. My advice is to forget about using bench press as an exercise for the chest. I train primarily for strength so, I just bench as heavy as possible with good form & then just do sets of sissy isolation exercises (pec deck, cable crossover) to develop my pecs.