Flat Feet and Custom Inserts

My chiropractor tells me I need custom inserts for my flat feet. They cost over $200.

I’m wondering if anyone has done this, and is if really worth the extra expense than just going and buying an arch support insert from a shoe store.

[quote]sugarfree wrote:
My chiropractors tells me I need custom inserts for my flat feet. They cost over $200.

I’m wondering if anyone has done this, and is if really worth the extra expense than just going and buying an arch support insert from a shoe store.[/quote]

You have more than one chiropractor? Exactly what problem do your chiropractors tell you the flat feet are causing?

When I was a kid, a podiatrist had me wearing those useless things. In my late teenage years I started playing basketball. The arches of my feet developed and the ankle bones repositioned themselves (I play defense on my toes). I lost half a shoe size, and have had the smaller shoe size and higher arch ever since.

World of difference. I had/have a problem with hyperpronation. I tried the Superfeet insoles that were about 30 bucks but they didn’t fix the problem. I had custom insoles made and they are great, my feet feel great when running or hiking. My doc was telling me that if you are a little bit bigger (200lbs+), are active and have alignment issues you generally need more support than the over the counter insoles provide. My insurance covered the cost of my insoles, but with the pain in the foot, ankle and leg I was having I would have paid for them.

Good Luck

Well you can try out the over the counter arch supports and see if it corrects the problem. If they don’t get the job done then you can always get the custom kind. If the problem isn’t severe, often the OTC arch supports will work fine. Just make sure that you pick up a quality product, Superfeet and SOF sole make some pretty good supports.

Take care,

Ryan

[quote]freshspecbluegt wrote: