Fixing 'Banana Rolls'

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting, though I love love love the forum and have found it to be so incredibly motivating. I have a question regarding that awful sagging butt issue (some people call them banana rolls, ugh ugh ugh). I’ve made an assumption and I wanted to ask whether it’s correct or not.

I’ve found if I contract my glutes, my butt lifts nicely and the banana roll temporarily disappears. When I release the contraction, the sag reappears. Does this mean that with the right exercises and build-up of muscle I can eliminate them to look like they do in the contraction? If this sounds confusing, I’ve attached a pic (left side is the sag - right side is when I tense my glute).

I travel heavily so I’ve been putting together a bodyweight workout for myself that I can do anywhere based on what I’ve learned in these forums, with extra attention on my glutes based on the Youtube video “Get a Round Juicy Bubble Butt From Home No Equipment!” - It’s basically a collection of various squats and lunges. I personally LOVE the idea of using my own bodyweight (and props that are small and easy to travel with).

PS: I’ve gone from 210lbs to 135lbs and I’ve started doing yoga 5 times a week. I’m now ready and excited to tackle weight bearing exercises to get some definition and toning so I can look decent in a bathing suit (I’m much too umm… ripply… at the moment!).

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks SO much in advance!

Big congrats on your weight loss success!!! Going from 210 to 135 is PHENOMENAL!! WHOOT!

About bringing up your glutes, you can absolutely build muscle there and it will make everything look higher and tighter. Rounding up your glutes won’t completely take care of lax skin or cellulite, but putting more muscle under there will absolutely give you a younger looking booty.