First Year Training Almost Complete

I started training last November. At the time I was 6’2 ad weighed about 185-190lbs. I started out using a lot of 5x5 work with bench and squat. I added in dead lifts a little down the road. I think I started with a 185 bench 225 squat and 250 dead lift. Now I am at 222lb weight with 315 bench 425 squat and 455 dead lift. The only program I’ve ran was smolov jr and base.

Everything else has been me just taking a little here and there from other workouts and making my work outs that way. That’s worked fine so far, but going forward I know I’ll need a better work out plan. At this point what would be something good to continue making good strength gains?

A good idea is to keep training. In all seriousness if what your doing is working then continue doing that. It’s the biggest thing I’ve taken away from the sport in the last 11 months. Saturday after the meet I was asked what was next and what were the new goals. i gave the a simple answer The exact same thing I was doing before only progressively more and my goals 2.5kg/5kg/7.5kg

I got asked why. The answer its a marathon not a race and I don’t want to be remembered for what I can lift but who I was as a lifter and ambassador to the sport

WOW, one year training and already a 315 bench and 425 squat?!?

I have trained 1 year and 9+ months and it took me that long to get to a 3plate/4 plate on those.

May I ask what you did exactly? Because I also ran 5x5 for about a year of that time but didn’t go up that crazy fast like you did. I also see you started at a 185 bench,lol how did you manage to pull that off? I worked for probably 4-5 months to get there :confused:

How many times did you do the Smolov Jr/base and was it just for squat,bench,or both?

[quote]Ryan Pelletier wrote: