T Nation

First Year Progress

Ok, so about a year ago I started lifting seriously (again). Because I've never been able to reach my goals before, I threw out everything I thought I knew about training and started fresh. I did a lot of searching and reading in the articles and the forums. A lot of you guys out there have helped me without even knowing it.

My first training log entry was May 21 of last year. No before pics.

Measurements: BW - 170
Chest - 41
Shoulders - 47.25
Waist - 35.5 (at navel level)
Thighs - 19.5/20.5
Biceps - 14.25/14.5
Forearms - 11.5/12
Calves - 13.5/13.75

Lifts:
Bench - 170
Squat - 220 (but not until June 12 because of a broken leg)
DL - 265 (same)

Current measurements: BW - 208-212
Chest - 44.75
Shoulders - 52
Waist - 37
Thighs - 23/23
Biceps - 16/16 (cold)
Forearms - 12.5/12.75
Calves - 14.75/14.75

Lifts:
Bench - 240
Squat - 350
DL - 380

It’s been a while since I’ve maxed. On June 19, I’m gonna try for a 405 DL, one of my biggest goals so far.

BTW, no real point to this thread other than to share and maybe encourage. My gains haven’t been enormous, but I think I’ve done well for someone who just turned 31.

Congratulations on your progress. Gaining 40 lbs and having all your lifts go up significantly within a year is awesome, especially that bench press.

I am the same height as you, but you’ve got about 20 lbs on me, and the lifts to go with it. What’s happening on June 19th? Is it just a day in the gym or are you going to compete somehow? either way, at that bodyweight, it doesn’t seem unreasonable for you to get 4 plates a side on the deadlift, especially if its been a while since you maxed.

What did your diet and training look like over the course of the year?

No before pics, but do we get to see afters?

Either way, awesome progress man. A couple more years and you’ll be looking sweet. What’s your ultimate goal?

Congrats! Nice progress!