T Nation

First Year Progress. Any Good? Advice.

Hi. Just after some comments and advice on my progress. I am getting stronger but my weight has stalled these last 3 months and I took a photo to compare to last year and I hardly noticed any difference.

26yr male
174cm
73kg (started 65kg)

I have been going to the gym for a year now. My goal is to gain weight, strength and get more muscle definition. I started going 3 days a week doing chest/triceps, back/biceps, legs/shoulders. I did that for about 1 month before I learnt I needed more frequency. So I started CT Best Damn Workout. I did that for a couple of months but going to the gym 6 days a week and getting up at 5am was taking too much of a toll. I have to go to the gym in the morning because it is just too busy in the evening plus I’m a builder and after work I found I didn’t have as much energy as in the morning. So I tried 5 days a week but that still was too much. I now go 4 days a week doing upper/lower. Monday-Upper, Wednesday-Lower, Friday-Upper, Sunday-Lower

I use to keep track of my calories but I found out that just eating as much as I can was the best. It took a while to see my weight start getting up. I really struggle to eat. I am never hungry and it takes my ages to finish my food. My diet:

Breakfast: 1cup of oats with 1/2c of milk and 1/2c of water, protein shake with water
Morning tea: Museli bar, piece of fruit, 110g of nuts (walnut, cashews), and some pumpkin seeds
Lunch: 185g tuna (or some of last nights dinner), 2 slices of bread, protein bar, museli bar, 2 pieces of fruit.
Dinner: 1 type of meat, type of carb (potatoes or rice), 1 other type of vegetable)
On training days I have a protein shake with milk before bed.

As for training progress. I didn’t test my 1 rep maxes when I first started but I stuggled to squat just the bar. I didn’t realise it weighed 20kg! Deadlift- was 50kg ( I think that was mainly a technique issue though). I couldn’t do any pull ups.