T Nation

First Workout Advice

Looking for some sage advice here. I have got the eating down to an art thanks to all of your help I am packing away about 4k calories a day.

My trainer has started me on the bb'ing program that he has designed, I am kind of concerned with it though. The guy doesnt look like a bb'der. Can you guys give me some advice? I am paying this guy hard earned money so I want to make sure that I am getting my monies worth. I went too him asking for a workout that is dense with compound lifts, this was the first hour, concentrating on legs. (Bear it in mind this is my first time lifting any weight, so the numbers are girlieman and embarressing)

Warmup:
3x10 Lunges (Body Weight)
3x10 CalfRaises (Body Weight)
3x10 Squats (Body Weight)
3x10 Front Step up (Body Weight +10 pounds)
3x10 Side Step up (Body Weight +10 pounds)

Workout:
Squats 3x10- 200 lbs (Smith Machine) - To failure
Hack Squats 3x10 - 200 lbs(Smith Machine) - To failure
Lying leg curls 3x10 - ?? it is marked in numbers, weird eh? (Smith Machine) - To failure

Core Stuff: (ehh?)
Crunches/twists (10lb medicine ball)
(The rest calensthetics)
Some other ab stuff
Some back stuff more abb stuff... (I boxed for 5+ years, I won't go into the abbs stuff, but it was not difficult)
Some standing on a piece of wood and balancing.. eh? dont know what this is for.

I felt like I was getting aerobically exhausted on the smith machines and
that I could push more weight on lower reps. Should I be doing such high reps
when I am wanting to put on size + strength?

I am guessing that all of the warmup stuff is ok? But a bb friend of mine used to tell me that he warmed up using 12 (1/2 weight for set) - 8 ( 3/4 weight for set) - 4( Set weight -10lbs)
and then do the set, it felt like the majority of my workout was warming up.

After the workout, I felt like I do after a really long run, like that adrenaline/jittery feel.