T Nation

First Week In - Thoughts and Concerns

Hi All,

After flip flopping on the decision to begin TRT for a few months, last week I decided to take the plunge. That being said, I am beginning to have second thoughts and am very confused as to how to move forward. Being a long time lurker on this forum, I have seen a few people do exactly this, and I was quick to judge them for not being 100% committed before starting, but here I am…

Little background- just turned 32 this month.

I am 5’10 157 lbs. I have been working out fairly consistently for the past 5 years, going 3-5 days per week. My diet has been great, have been consuming apr 2500-3000 calories a day with plenty of protein.

I have had a very tough time getting over 160 lbs, despite consistently working out and eating a lot. I will add that I was on Wellbutrin xl 150 for 4 years, but successfully got off them a month ago. Maybe that contributed to the difficult in gaining weight, I’m not sure.

Overall Id say I’m relatively asymptotic with low t symptoms, however I may have just become used to feeling this way. Haven’t had morning erections in years, however libido is ok and no issues with maintaining an erection. My energy levels are ok too, however I’ve been lacking energy in the gym.

My recent labs are as follows:

Thyroid Function

TSH 1.91 Range: 0.32-5.04 mU/L

Pituitary Function

Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH) 2.6 Range: <9.5 IU/L

Luteinizing Hormone (LH) 2.0 Range: 1.1-8.8 IU/L

Prolactin 8.0 Range: 3.8-20.6 ug/L

Reproductive and Gonada

Estradiol 107 Range <157 pmol/L

Testosterone 12.4 Range 8.4-28.8 nmol/L

Bioavailable Testosterone was cancelled

because MSP criteria for SHBG testing were

not met.

I was prescribed 100mg/ week.