First Try at Low Reps/High Sets

Hello All,
I am looking for some input on my first try at doing more sets with less reps. I was doing 4 sets. The first was a warm up. The second two were heavier weights and done to failure (usually at 10-15 reps). The last set was done with low weight, and done to failure. I have been doing this for about 2 and a half months and have been getting some results. Then again, I just started lifting in January, so anything was bound to give results.
Anyway, instead tonight I just finished with 8 sets of five reps each. I would progressively increase the weight in the first four sets, and then keep that heavy weight on the last four sets.
I guess what I am wondering is if not feeling as tired afterward is normal. In some ways, I don’t feel like I even really worked out. I am so used to my muscles being really tired and it hurting to lift. But from what I have read and heard here, pain is not always a good indicator.
Did I do something wrong?
Should I have been using a heavier weight on the last sets?
Anyway, some input would be great. Thanks!

Jamey Russell

Soreness isn’t an indicator of progress. What you’ve expirienced is common when working with lower reps.

If you get all the reps in your worksets - bump the weight up. If you’re unable to get them all, like 5/4/4/3, then stick with that weight until you do.

Taking a light/off week after 4-6 weeks of steady low-rep work is also a good idea. Read the article “Back Off And Grow” by Jack Reape.

[quote]slotan wrote:
Soreness isn’t an indicator of progress. What you’ve expirienced is common when working with lower reps.

If you get all the reps in your worksets - bump the weight up. If you’re unable to get them all, like 5/4/4/3, then stick with that weight until you do.

Taking a light/off week after 4-6 weeks of steady low-rep work is also a good idea. Read the article “Back Off And Grow” by Jack Reape.
[/quote]