First Time Zercher(er)

I am going to be doing zercher squats early next week as my ME lower movement. Probably a 3 or 5RM.
I have never done these before.
I’ve watched some videos and have seen some of ya’ll on here do them.
Any advice, or warnings before doing them?
Should my stance be the same as my low bar stance (moderately wide)?
And should I try and stay as upright as possible, or let a little forward lean happen?
I’ll post a video after I do them, probably Tuesday.

Thanks guys.

You’ll probably same stance as front squats, i used to do these all.the time. Must complain about it pinching skin on arms , pussies.
Now hold at close to body like you are bear hugging somebody, keep upright like front squat.
Some guys rest it on belt during bottom part of exercise .
Fine just explode out off bottom,
oh and if you are into strongman or mma, there is carry over to stone lifts and grappling.
Zercher deads i used to do also , only if you are very flexible and with lite weight, as you round your back to great degree even with good form.
Good luck.

1 Like

The answer to all of these questions is highly dependent on what you want to get out of zerchers.

Is a stronger posterior chain an option? Cause that’s something I would like…

I am a big Zercher fan. Agree with all the above. Hold them close, they drift as the weight gets heavy, stay upright, get good depth with your elbows between your knees on your way down. I like to pause for a 1count and drive straight up. A fat bar adds a lot of comfort. My Zercher max is about 60-70% of my squat. They stress your upper back and abs.

My favorite posterior chain are SSB good morning, SLDL, and for squat SSB box squat.
Zercher will work it, I find a nice carryover to my squat. Raw,medium stance, Olympic shoes.

Definitely. You really don’t need to do anything specific to get that, as it’s a pretty general goal. As long as you maintain a consistent form/technique with each session, you’ll be good.

Zercher good mornings.