T Nation

First Time, Retired Athlete

Hello all,
First I'd like to say thank you to everyone for providing so much helpful information.

Since I'm new here, here is a bit of background.
I'm a retired pro endurance athlete. I have always been 100% clean and am a firm believer in testing for competitive sports. Over the course of my career however, I wore my body down. I have tears in my knee, hip, and both shoulders. I am still able to power through exercises, though many are relatively painful. I still spend over 20 hours per week working out and am in solid shape. I was never the most talented athlete, but I always refused to take no for an answer. I'm at the point where I sometimes feel like the choice is being taken from me. Additionally, I've been so overtrained at points that I've had all sorts of adrenal/endocrine issues. I feel I have never fully recovered because it's not in my personality to give myself time off.

Though my body isn't cooperative, there are still many things in my life that I would like to do and accomplish that are extremely physically taxing. Since I am no longer tested on a regular basis by WADA and USADA, I want to explore new options that will make getting out of bed easier in the morning.

My main goal is not bulking. I do not care about size AT ALL. Aesthetics are of literally no value to me. I don't care if I get bigger or smaller. My goals are joint health and strength, cardio AND muscular endurance, recovery, improved energy, that overall sense of well being I used to have, and any positive mental effects (I know, wouldn't we all like this).

More simply, I want a bit of help getting back to how I felt in my prime. I need to be able to cope with massive amounts of pushups, running, pull ups, and bodyweight excercises.