First Time on a 'Regimented' Workout

After 8 years in the military, this deployment I decided to finally get on a regimented work out and stick to it…had the chance to do some “juice” but thank god didn’t do it. Don’t ever plan on it either, but I am having a problem with cardio and my weight training routine. Since i started lifting i have put on 10-12 lbs. and my run has extremely suffered…and when i try to get my 2 mile time back under 13 mins My weight lifting and “look” really seems to suffer. I can’t figure it out. I have an awesome partner he guides me through the rough parts where i’m still learning and I have a good supplement stack I take. But this running thing is killing me… any suggestions?

I am on a 4 day split workout

Day 1 Chest/Biceps
Day 2 Back/Triceps
Day 3 Legs/ 1 tricep 1 bicep exercise
Day 4 Shoulders/ Forearms
Day 5 Rest

I do cardio Monday and Friday regardless and sprints on Wednesday.

1 Like

Maybe it’s the diet?

I am taking supplements pretty much to the letter. Protien and BCAA’s as well as creatine. and a daily vitamin. But eating here is touch and go…lots of pasta fish and african meat and potatoes…and thats it no variation.

You can’t have the best of both worlds. Either you get big or you have a good run time. That extra weight will be a burden on your endurance.

If you wanna get better at both, maybe you can switch to a strongman routine.

[quote]undeadlift wrote:
You can’t have the best of both worlds. Either you get big or you have a good run time. That extra weight will be a burden on your endurance.

If you wanna get better at both, maybe you can switch to a strongman routine.[/quote]

Yeah, but having a 13 minute time for the 2-mile isn’t a crazy goal. Getting too bulky will prevent you from getting a 10 minute 2 mile time but if you actually do everything right I’m sure you could still run a sub 6:30 mile while carrying 210lbs of jacked, mostly lean mass.