First Strongman Comp!

Hey all!

I’m a beginner-powerlifter, been training for a year or so… To “fill” the lists, I’m participating in a strongman show locally this weekend. Wish me luck guys! I will be posting pics if i get any…

competition:

truckpull: 11500lbs, 50 meters
tire flips on time: 792lbs
Farmers: 50 meters, 198lbs pr hand
viking press/log: 198lbs, overhead for reps
cagelift/kronlift: starting at 440, rising bar!

Good luck - i think the farmers will be exceptionally tough if your not grip trained…

Also, can you post pics up of some women please.

Thanks.

I’m doing the some of the same thing, I’m a powerlifter but I’m competing in a strongman thing in 2 weeks.

I think all things strength should be embraced.

And best of luck to ya, you’re a strong mofo so you’ll be fine.

I hate to tell ya this, but a 792lb tire is freaking heavy. I deadlift over 500lbs at about 170 bodyweight and i can only flip a 700lb tire once without having to shimmy it up. That event is gonna suck for sure.

The tire flip and truck pull will be the hardest events. If you flip the tire once, you should be happy. There’s not too many people who can just flip an 800 lb. tire on their first try.

200 lbs. per hand farmers walk is light. I have had a few guys come out who never trained strongman or PL, only bodybuilding type stuff, and could do 195 per hand, not very fast, but still.

[quote]MachineAZ wrote:
The tire flip and truck pull will be the hardest events. If you flip the tire once, you should be happy. There’s not too many people who can just flip an 800 lb. tire on their first try.

200 lbs. per hand farmers walk is light. I have had a few guys come out who never trained strongman or PL, only bodybuilding type stuff, and could do 195 per hand, not very fast, but still.[/quote]

Agreed. That truck pull should be killer also!!! 50 meters is about 165 feet to us Americans, if I remember right. Freaking sick!!!

[quote]Adamsson wrote:
Hey all!