First Powerlifting Meet in Memphis, TN

So I’m debating on whether or not to compete in the Son Light Power Christmas for kids competition here in bartlett, tn (memphis) on December 3rd. First, does anyone know much about this federation? What are some of the opinions on it? This is my first PL meet if I end up doing it so I don’t know much about the competition atmosphere anyways besides what I read.

Second, I just recently pulled something (possibly a ligament, but hey I’m only a student PT at the moment) in my back playing in a softball tournament so I’m going on 1 week and a half without squats or deadlifts or really any legs. I’m going to try to work in some kind of legs tomorrow hopefully. But this presents the problem in that the competition is in two months and I may not be able to train full force again on squats or deadlifts until another week or two.

On top of this, my squat and DL won’t be strong coming off of much of a break. My PR DL is 475, I haven’t squatted to a max in a long time, and my PR bench is 285. I weigh 198 on the dot. I’m 6’1 so I know I’ve read recently about that not being an ideal weight for being this tall (which really isn’t that tall) but I don’t see myself being able to pack on a lot more weight without it being unwanted weight.

So the question is, should I go ahead and plan on competing on Dec. 3rd? Also, I’m in PT school so while I stay dedicated to training its hard to go 100% everyday with the workload and $60 is a good chunk of change when you don’t have an income. If not Dec. 3rd my next option is Jan 28th but with all the traveling for the holidays I won’t be peak then either. I probably just to stop making excuses and compete but just wanted to get some opinions.