T Nation

First No-Gi Tournament

Actually it's my first ANY kind of grappling tournament. :slightly_smiling:

I started training MMA in March, but wasn't able to roll because of a knee injury I got in January. I did do a lot of watching though and played some bottom game while I worked on my standup. Then one day I broke my thumb in two places kickboxing and for the next month or so I was in a cast that took up my right arm from the elbow down.

I still had some problems with the knee but I got into rolling more and a month or two ago I heard about the 2nd Annual Texas No Gi Championship and one of my intructors said I should do it.

I had decided to bulk up to 240 from 200 a few months before so I hadn't been doing any cardio other than rolling. Stupid. I decided to go down from 225 to fight in the 196-215 beginner's division. I realize how stupid I was with my bulk. I never was a cardio machine, and cutting out cardio completely really hurt me. I realize now that I'm not competing as a bodybuilder, but I AM competing as a Jiu JItsu player, so my endurance is more important than my size.

I have been having alot of life stress and have been feeling like crap in the gym, but I am still excited to do this tournament and pop my competition cherry. My weight is fine and it doesn't look like I'm going to need to work too hard to make 215, but my cardio has been crap when rolling.

The rounds are 4 minutes, and it is double elimination so I'll be fighting at least twice. My gameplan is to get, and maintain a dominant position without flailing wildly, and hopefully finishing the match quickly rather than winning on points and getting tired before the next match.lol. I want to be strong and methodical.

I really just want to do my best and learn as much as possible from this whole thing...but I am starting to have a little nervousness. :slightly_smiling:

Well good luck.

How long until the tournament?