First Meet Question

Hey, I’ve been lifting for a 6 years now, and I’m getting ready for my very first bench competition. For the last two years I’ve been doing something best described as my own version of westside barbell (after all, you’re supposed to pick exercises based on your weak spots), and I’ve never felt the need to deload.

My question is: is it a good idea to do some kind of deload before the meet, and if so, what type of deload?

The things I have considered doing:

1. Cut out the repetition work the week before the meet(such as dumbell press for reps), as it might make me too tired

2. cut out dynamic effort day the week before the meet (honestly, the speed days for bench press don’t seem to do much for me. maybe geared lifters get more out of them)

3. lower the volume and intensity on everything I do

4. Skip the ME work.

One lifter at my gym reccommended me switching my routine entirely and focus on a routine that will allow me to max out on meet day (basically it was a six week routine where you, during the first 3 weeks, work your way up to doing 6x6 with 80% of your 1RM, and during the other 3 weeks you lower the reps and sets while increasing the weight untill you hopefully hit a new 1rm on competition day ).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I’m new to this forum, so I’m sorry if I happen to post in the wrong place.

First, I suggest reading through the Westside thread we have here. Second, if what you’re doing is working for you, then do it. If later on you decide you want to do some linear periodization, then that’s great. Finally, keep the intensity as high as you can for as long as you can without compromising your ability to recover, and ultimately supercompensate for your meet. A week off before the meet is the rule of thumb. I would try that, and then adjust based on how you feel as you do more meets and gain more experience.