T Nation

First Meet - Choosing Attempt Weights

Hey guys. I'm planning on doing my first meet in february. Just wondering how i go about choosing the weights for my attempts. Do i choose them when i get there? Am i 'locked in' once i choose? sorry I'm a total noob to competition so these could be very painful questions (facepalms?)

Also any advice as to what percentages to choose would be appreciated. for example, i have heard that people generally choose a fairly light opener, then their second attempt is their gym max, and their third attempt may be a PR.

Thanks in advance guys.

Here is a good article by Wendler on openers for a first meet:

http://www.elitefts.com/documents/openers.htm

thank you

No problem. One thing I would emphasize from the article that is so true is that there is a lot of shit going on at the meet that is new and that may affect your lifting, and you should plan on weird things happening. You want to get a total, more than anything, and if you bomb on squat or bench the meet is over. Err on the side of a light weight to start. Something you can hit an easy triple for in your sleep. Also, missed lifts really take their toll, so if you get too aggressive on your squat attempts, it really takes it out of you for bench and deads.

i'll take that into account for sure. I'm still a little confused though as to when i choose the weights and am 'locked in' to attempt those weights. Is it all done at the start of the meet or do you let the person running the meet know as you move along in your attempts? I'm doing a British Columbia powerlifting open meet btw if that helps at all.

Also, what is warm up generally like? do you warm up at the start for all of your lifts or do you warm up for each individual lift (eg. squat warm up - squat 3 attempts, then bench warm up - bench 3 attempts, etc.)

sorry for all the questions, i really have no guidance to PL other than the internet because i live in such a small town.