First Football Practice

So yeah, I started playing football… At 21 years of age.
I had been contemplating since I was about 16 years old, but just now got around to it.
I had my first practice on Friday, no contact, we just went through a few plays. The coach and team have a very positive attitude towards me and are actually excited. If all goes well, I’m playing my first game this coming weekend.
Anything I should expect, any tips, all comments are welcome!

What kind of league is this?

If you are going to have your first full contact game within a week of putting on a helmet for the first time, your coach is an idiot.

You better get some motrin… a lot in fact…

Oh, and good luck.

~V

[quote]doogie wrote:
What kind of league is this?

If you are going to have your first full contact game within a week of putting on a helmet for the first time, your coach is an idiot.[/quote]

It’s the national league over here, I don’t live in the States.

Wow, never played in your life and you’ve got your first game after a week of practice!

Good luck dude and don’t forget the painkillers.

err i agree with the guy who thinks ur coach is an idiot.

i coach and play football here in the uk and i would never ever let someone play without having the fullest confidence that that player would be safe; ie knew the proper technique in blocking and tackling (and being tackled) and had practised it many many times in kit. without having done this you are in extreme danger (and a great danger to the other players on the field) and i would highly recommend you not to play until you learn how to do the above.

if i sound overly harsh its because i am trying to be! it is not safe for u to play if u have not done the above.

ps pls dont let this put you off the sport it is a great sport one that i love and hope that u will grow to love too, just dont be too impatient and get the proper grounding in the necessary techniques first.