T Nation

First Fight In December

ive been training in muay thai for 2 months now , my trainer says i have good natural ability and phenominal power, im worried that with 3 months to go i might not be ready in time currently i train 2-3 times muay thai a week and work out at the gym but i feel since my cardio aint up to par ive knocked that back quite a bit and generally have been running up a mountain track the other 2 days which is about 3 km and fairly steep , should i be doing cardio every day and knock the weights on the head or theoretically will it all fall into place when we start conditioning more and more .

im curently 270 lbs @ 17% bodyfat and @5’9 i hope im not @ too much of a disadvantage as most of the guys in this division i hear are quite tall. any real fighters that have valid opinions please give me their thoughts it would greatly appreciated , bruce lee said nerves are always present before a fight and if you arent nervous you might get knocked the fuck out…cheers

for reference, I have been practicing MMA for almost a year and have yet to fight, but that is the goal. I was a college football player, and a 3 sport athlete in HS. At your weight and BF you WILL get KO’d. MT fighters are notoriously tall and lengthy limbwise. If your serious about fighting you need to lose probably like 100 pounds. At least get down to 205. I started at 230 and am dropping to 185. Before you do anything you need to address the issue that your fat. Thank god you found T-Nation. Fix your diet and work on losing the weight.