T Nation

First Cycle - Bulk or Cut?

I've been training seriously for over five years now, and apart from one prohormone cycle (superdrol - 20mg) I've been entirely natural. I started at fifteen and weighed 140lbs, and have put on 20lbs every year since then. I currently stand 5'10" and weigh between 235-240 pounds, depending on water retention. After much research, I have decided to do my first injectable AAS cycle which will be a simple 500mg of Test E (250 x2/wk) for 12 weeks, front loading the first two pins with 500mg each.

This is my dilemma - this cycle will put me right in the middle of May, right around the time beach season starts. In my five years of weightlifting, I've always been fairly lean. However, when my gains started slowing down at around 200lbs, I decided to sacrifice conditioning to put on more mass. Now at 240lbs, my body composition resembles that of an injured powerlifter.

The prospect of low bodyfat during the summer is very seducing, but the desire for more mass is ever present. I have Clen/T3 on hand if I do decide to cut. In your opinion, would this be a good time to cut, or should I keep gaining while the gaining is good? The only recent picture I have is a back shot from this summer when I was around 230.

EDIT: My measurements are:
Arms: 17.5in
Calves: 16.5in
Chest: 55in
Waist: 38in
Neck: 16.5in
Thighs: 27in

Lifts:
Bench: 325
Squat: 405
Deadlift: 525
Millitary Press: 205

cut

You should cut BEFORE going on AAS.

A 38" waist and that pic alone shows you have plenty of bodyfat to lose.

Starting a cycle when lean is much more productive than doing one while carrying excess bodyfat. The change in insulin sensitivity alone will make a big difference in the efficacy of a cycle.

Its a waste of drugs to diet down to anything but contest leanness. Get lean with proper diet and cardio THEN further improve your body composition by using drugs to add muscle.