T Nation

First Cycle Advice for a 38 Year Old After 5 Years of Hard Training?

Hi All,

I would greatly appreciate some advice please. I am seriously considering a one off cycle and wanted to share my current state and goals in hopes of getting some solid advice.

I am almost 38 and my recent bloodwork (attached) has me in the low/normal range. I thought for a couple years now I may have low T but this appears not to be the case.

Current Physique:

• 225lbs Weight (102kg) at a BF of approx 21%

• 6ft Tall

• At my heaviest 5 years ago I was 288lbs, I then cut for 2 years to 178lbs and bulked back to 235lbs for 2.5 years. 3 months ago I started cutting again. I have mild lose skin on my lower abdomen as a result of being so overweight at one point.

I have been training hard for 5 years (2 years cutting 2.5 years bulking and a few months cutting again)

In the last 3 months of cutting weight I have experienced a significant loss of strength while only dropping 10lbs and keeping a high protein intake of 1.1g per lb. In the last few weeks I reduced my calories further to 2,200 calories per day and the same protein intake and am dropping 2lbs per week. Below are the changes to my lifts as a result of my cut:

Bench
315 x 1 precut to 275 x1 during my cut

Strict Overhead Press
165x1 to 154x1

Squat
341 x 1 to 308 x 1

I lift consistently 3 times per week and do BJJ 4 times per week.

GOALS:

• Bodyweight not to exceed 214lbs or 97kg post cut/cycle. This is because I want to compete in BJJ and this is the upper limit of the right class.

• Lean and muscular while looking natural. Don’t want to look like a huge bodybuilder, more physique/genetically gifted athlete. I would be very happy with 10 to 12% body fat.

• Decent Strength (bench 315x5, squat 425x3)

• Do no permanent damage to my body.

Health Situation and Concerns:

• I don’t want to risk serious damage to my body or reproductive system. I will be taking blood-work regularly of course.