Firefighters - Any Out Here?

Hi im just curious as to who here on the site is in the fire service, specifically in Ontario, Canada, but i am still interested in those serving elsewhere. I ask because i am currently going to school for this profession. Feel free to post here, i am just trying to seek out further information and insight.

Thanks in advance.

NOTE
please list where you work and how long thanks!

Split- I’ve been in the fire service since '98 and love the job more every shift. Right now I’m an Equipment Operator/EMT and an active member of a regional response technical rescue team.

Welcome to the best damn job in the world!

I’m a state of florida certified Firefighter and EMT and I am currently attending Paramedic school which I will be done with next October. I’m also a nationally registered EMT. I work as an Emt/Operator right now for a Private company herein Miami. I amin the hiring process with a few fire departments at the moment. Hopefully something will land soon. What information are you seeking? I will answer any questions you have of which I know the info.

information as in what you did to get in what qualifications you posess, etc. I know its different in Canada than the United states but there are similarities.

Like you I to am in school. I just finished the Chemeketa Community College Fire science program. Located in Salem, OR. Ranked number 3 in the United States. Super intense and I loved every minute of it! Right now I volunteer for a small department in Idaho and I am working on my Paramedic degree.

Secret to getting into firefighting is being good at tests and at interviews. Having lots of certs. and qualifications only helps you at the end of the process, if you can’t pass the test you don’t get anywhere.

firephil

I’m one in the UK, think our route in sounds a bit different to your though.

New York City and very proud.
8 months as of November 05.

[quote]samdiesel wrote:
New York City and very proud.