Fire Training

So, I’m relatively new to strength training. My goal is to be a career Firefighter. This requires a certain type of fitness. I need to be strong, fast, and explosive, and have a measure of endurance. I did stronglifts for about 3-4 months, and had a 225 deadlift, 165 squat, and 75 OHP.

I switched to the “complete power look program” that I found on T Nation. I really like it, however I was wondering what to do for conditioning? I had looked at crossfit, but the random workouts and high rep oly lifts are not really for me. I need to figure out some way to get my conditioning in without sacrificing strength.

Thanks for helping a new guy with no idea what he is doing.

If you’ve got access to a sled, do heavy pushes and pulls a couple of times a week.

I used to be a full-time firefighter for a municipal department.

The best thing (in my opinion) would be circuit training, strength templates with adequate conditioning or, I hate to say it, Crossfit style training. Nothing can really prep you for working in turnout gear, in an SCBA, in a hot ass house fire other than doing it. However, having a trained cardiovascular system makes the job much easier. Being bigger isn’t always better, because you go through air bottles quicker than a lighter guy, so just being fit and strong for your bodyweight is great.

I would recommend any type of strength work with solid conditioning thrown in as a staple. So prowler/sled pushes, sprinting, hill sprints with a weight vest, etcetera.

Can you find out what is on the test for the department you want to join?

[quote]Jester196 wrote:
I did stronglifts for about 3-4 months, and had a 225 deadlift, 165 squat, and 75 OHP. [/quote]
This might come out sounding rough, and it’s really not meant as a knock on you, but do you weigh like 130 pounds of something? I’m just trying to figure how these strength levels are, in context.