T Nation

Finger Injury from Rafter Pull-ups

Hi everyone,

I’ve been a lurker around here for a while but this is my first post.

I’ve been training push, pull, legs at the gym for a few years with separate days focusing on my grip (closing my captain of crush #2 and hand bands).

Obviously due to the Coronavirus my gym had been closed for six weeks and outdoor gyms and playgrounds are banned here in UK.

I’ve been working out at home but only pull up bar I had available was a thick rafter.

Last week I had Quite severe pain in my middle finger so took a few days off grip work and lifting. It felt better today so I thought time to get swole!

Tried to do a chin-up, heard a loud crack and had severe pain in my middle finger (joint that bends in the middle). Can not lift my body weight now due to severe pain.

Anyone have any ideas what I’ve done to myself? Or how to get lifting again?? I can’t go to my chiropractor due to lockdown :frowning:

Is it painful when you touch it, painful when you move it, or both, or neither?

Both, i can move it but it’s very stiff and swollen

It may be dislocated, subluxed or possibly fractured. If not, you may have done something weird with the tendons in the fingers. I strongly reccommend you see your GP, who can evaluate whether or not this is something that will require imaging.

Ok thanks, I was worried it would be something like that. I will have to see if there are any minor injury places still open.

1 Like

As a climber I’ve heard finger pulleys snap. It can be surprisingly loud. If you are not used to these type of injuries I would go get it checked out. Climbers get injuries like this all the time and can normally tell whether it’s a pulley or not, but even then they misdiagnose regularly. I have.

Glad you confirmed that this is an injury that does occur (I wasn’t sure myself). If so, this is almost definitely what’s happened