Finding a Real Combat Class

I’m an applicant for NYPD, hopefully getting in the academy in JULY barring any more budget crisis’ with the state and city of New York.

I’m in shape but I have no prior experience with any kind of fighting style and I want to start taking some classes. My questions is, how do I know that the instructor, gym and class I’m taking is for real. I realized once I started lifting that there are gyms for inexperienced people which are usually made to look pretty and make you feel comfortable but arn’t the best places to train. Well I’m sure its the same way with this sport. I don’t want to start taking a class and find out a few months later I’m taking a 6-12y/os karate class.

So, whats a real gym feel/look like? What about instructors and classes? If I walk in and theres a bunch of fat moms, should I turn and run? Thanks.

I’ll speak for krav maga, since there’s a good chance you’ll be training in that style for at least part of your academy training. At a krav school, you’d want to know if the school is affiliated with Krav Maga Worldwide, in Los Angeles. This is the U.S. parent organization for krav, run by Darren Levine, who brought the system to the U.S. after studying under Imi Lichtenfeld, the founder, in Israel.

The school you visit should offer classes for law enforcement and/or military personnel, and those classes should be separate from classes for civilians, though many of the techniques are the same. If a school does not offer this, as mine does, it doesn’t mean the school is not good, but it may not completely serve your needs as a policeman.

Cop classes get into weapons training more quickly than civilian classes do, but your teachers need a special certification to teach it.