T Nation

Finance Jobs

Anyone around here have a job in the finance industry?

(Raises hand).

Er… what additional information do you need?

I’m a recent grad and I’m just looking for some pointers to put me in the right direction.

Depending on what you’re looking for and where you’re located, you may have a great deal of opportunities. What are you looking for? Investment banking? Financial analysis? Corporate finace? Or more on the sales side like securities brokerage or asset management? I would recommend going after an internship (if you still can, since you’ve graduated already) or entry-level job in an area of interest to you to gain some experience and go from there. I assume you are fairly young and would therefore have time to decide by experience whether the areas you are “testing” really interest you as much as you thought they did, and you would still have the experience to draw on, put on the resume, etc. Bottom line: ain’t no teacher like experience.

I started as an intern at a small investment banking firm while still in graduate school (as a music major, by the way), and bugged them until they hired me (of course I also worked my ass off to give them a reason). I have since left that firm, where I worked almost 4 years, and am now a fairly well-paid credit risk analyst at a good sized bank. If you are in a large city with a variety of financial services available, your opportunities should be many!

If you want you can PM me and talk further. Good luck!

Deloitte. ring a bell?

stay the hell away from a bank, unless you wanna be a trader.

unless you like abusive customers, low pay, long hours and an ungrateful middle management breathing down your neck.

jaystyles