T Nation

Finally No Longer a Fatass. Time to Add Some Muscle Mass

Hey T Nation. I have been a long time lurker here and have finally decided to speak up. Here’s a little bit about me:

I’m 6’ 3", and 193 lbs at the time of taking these pics. I have been training pretty seriously since mid 2011, with the exception of June 2015 - August 2017 during which time I did no lifting at all, ate like absolute shit, and got really fat. I started getting serious again towards the very end of August last year and have managed to get the point shown in these pics.

For the last 3 months, I have been doing a very strict cut and have finally reached a point where I’m somewhat okay with my body fat percentage (although I’m still far from satisfied). So now it’s time to end the cut. Starting tomorrow, I’ll start transitioning into a lean bulk.

I started this cut with a daily calorie count of 2800, which I slowly lowered over time. At the end of the cut, my calories were down to 2000. The daily macro breakdown was around 235 grams of protein, 200 grams of carbs, and 30 grams of fat.

Starting tomorrow, I’ll be adding 500 calories to my daily count (2500 total) which I’ll stick to for a week. Assuming the scale doesn’t blow up after the end of next week, I’ll then add another 500 calories to the daily total (3000). At that point, every 2 weeks i’ll check my weight and add another 100-200 calories if the scale isn’t moving. My goal with this approach is to minimize the fat gain as much as possible.