Finally Broke 175lbs.

Hey everyone, I’ve been lifting weights and trying to gain weight for 3 years now. Its been a long hard battle, as I have hemophilia and get injured often, so my training is sometimes inconsistent. I made it from 135lbs to 155 in the first two years, and then started eating more seriously this year. I’ve gone from 155-180 this since ~January, with a couple injuries in between. I had been stuck at 165 from June to September and finally made the big push when I started college again at the beginning of September.
I did gain a chunk of fat gaining 15lbs in under two months, but I am proud of myself.

I recently started only being able to train 3 days a week, so I started Bill Starr’s 5x5. Hoping with the new weight I can get some more respectable iron on the bar. I found that since my training was inconsistent strength gains were equally slow and inconsistent, going in spurts.

Since its only October, should I continue bulking, maybe a little cleaner or keep packing away the food?

tl;dr
Gained some weight, proud of myself, keep going or slow down?

Good job, how tall are you?

I’d say keep gaining. If your training is inconsistent though be careful with the force feeding during those periods.

I’m only 5’6. Most of my mass is in my legs on account of my obsession with squatting. My arm are lackluster as I followed the ‘Full body workout, big lifts, never train isolation’ crowd for a long time.
I try to cut down the food when injured, I’ve had a good long streak since July.

You can always add in some isolation to full body work.

Thinking out loud here, I wonder how hemophilia would affect things like the “pump” and recovery? What have been your observations?

[quote]mch60360 wrote:
You can always add in some isolation to full body work.

Thinking out loud here, I wonder how hemophilia would affect things like the “pump” and recovery? What have been your observations?

[/quote]