T Nation

Finally Asking for Help

I’ve been lifting for a good 6 years now. I’m a married, shift working, Dad, makes for a pretty brutal schedule. I grind out at least a good 4 days a week in the gym. I’m 6’ about 192lbs and no clue as to body fat %. I consider myself loosely a “hybrid” athlete, I enjoy getting out and running a 5k but I still like to move heavy weights. I’m trying to chase a better physique, and I know I may get ripped for saying it, but I’d like to get close to Zac Efron’s Baywatch build, or Stephen Amell’s Arrow. I cycle workouts, always follow a routine, currently following Stoppani’s Strength cycle. I’ll try and post some pics of current situation when I get home. But any help/advice is much appreciated!

I’m sorry if I’m misunderstanding but what is it you want help with?

Your situation (family, shifts, etc) sounds like mine. I think you would do well to check out 5/3/1. I’ve been using it for around 10 months now and it was a game changer.

Thanks for the input, I’m just at a stalemate it seems, I keep my diet in check 85% of the time, make sure I’m taking in plenty of protein, try and limit empty carbs, bust my butt in the gym. I’m just chasing that aesthetic, I guess I’m asking the age old question of how to steadily gain muscle and not hold fat as much? I know it takes time, but I’ve been the same visually for the past 2 years. I’ve made strength gains, but little muscle and no weight change. I’m sorry if I’m not making much sense, brains kind of scrambled from work today.

This stuck out to me. With you having trained for 6 years and being a dad, I assume you’re not a teenager/early 20s, so your metabolism probably isn’t like a humming bird.