Fighting and weightlifting, a dillema

Hey Everyone,
I’ve been thinking about alot of stuff lately, so i am just going to talk. Feel free to chime in with your opinions and thoughts.

I recently started training in a combination of boxing and muay thai. Its alot of fun after being out of the martial arts for a few years. Up until now i have been lifting Westside style, been doing it about two monthes, havn’t started the lower part of it yet, still working on healing my back with reverse hypers. Anyways, the Westside program has been fun, i like going heavy and have noticed increased mass in my back and triceps/shoulders. However, I havn’t seen a whole lot of progress in my bench. I’m not a big guy, 5’10" 150, and my best bench is 200. So i started thinking today, is what i bench that important? I’m not a powerlifter, though i do like setting goals and trying to break PR’s. I want to bench more, my dad benched 300@150lbs when he used to lift, so i would at least like to reach that. But it seems like i am trying to use the bench to bolster my ego. Now that i am learning how to fight perhaps i should worry more about excercises that will carry over to that.

I recently read something by Coach Davies where he said something about people being to concerned about numbers in the weight room, placing to much value on them in relation to functioning on the field. Maybe i am falling into that trap. I mean, a 350lb bench doesn’t carry over into ass kicking ability. I mean, it can’t hurt, but maybe i should be worrying more about function training than bringing my bench up. After reading about the Westside style of lifting, i chose it because it seemed like a nice blend of absolute strength, yet i hoped i might gain some mass too. Perhaps now that i am fighting i need to consider a different training regimen.

thanks,

anton