T Nation

FFB Diet Help

I used to be extremely over weight, an obvious endomorph. After trying some crash diets a couple years ago I decided I hated the way they made me feel and started bodybuilding which I have been doing for 2 years.

For the past year I have really cracked down on my diet and started calorie counting and watching what I eat throughout each part of the day. Currently I weigh 160 lbs, 5 ft 10, 18 years old and was previously 215 pounds at 22%+ bf. I am down to about 14-15% as a rough estimate and want to get shredded before bulking up.

I have tried bulking by basically doing a 40/40/20 plan at 2800 to 3000 cals a day and was gaining substantial fat and some muscle. I've saw a couple articles on how its important for FFB(former fat boys) to get shredded before attempting any type of mass/muscle gaining diets to prevent fat gain.

This diet below is my typical diet i've started with adjusted portions to suit calorie needs. My plan was to follow the below diet and adjust calories about 100 a week down to the lowest of 2200, so I still have energy for my workouts. I am doing a 5 day split routine with moderate cardio 3 times per week.

Any advice or adjustments to my current diet/routine to help reach my goal of 10%bf would be greatly appreciated.

Breakfast(5:00am)- 1 cup oats / 1 scoop caesin/whey blend / 1 cup hood milk - Cals. - 500

Postworkout(8:00am) - 1 scoop nutrex vitagro + 1 scoop Protein Isolate
250 Cals

Classes Over-Lunch(12:00pm)- Prolab MRP - 1 cup hood milk
440 Cals

2:30pm - 1 Can Tuna, 1 Can Unsalted Green Beans, 1 Tbs. Nat Pb
330 Cals

5:30pm - Regular Day - MRP such as Muscle Milk - 350 Cals
(Work Day Meal)-Chicken or Steak Salad with Avocado at work.
Portion to roughly 400 Cals

8:00pm - Regular Day - 1 Cup Cottage Cheese w/ Half Serving Caesin Protein & 1 Tbs. nat pb - 375 Cals
(Work Day Meal)Chicken or steak Salad w/ Avocado again at work.
Portion to roughly 400 Cals.

Only Drink Water: Aim for 1 - 1.5 Gallons/day