Few Exercises Vs. Many Exercises

I’m just looking to get some insight here… for bodybuilding (aesthetic) purposes, do you think it’s better to concentrate on just a few exercises (the big ones), and work the hell outta them? or is it more beneficial to use a great variety of exercises and vary the program? i just wanted to get some discussion going… .

Could you give an example of a collection of exercises that one limits oneself to (or mostly does) that you’d consider “few” ?

the more of a beginner you are, the less exercises. As you get more advanced you add more exercises. A complete beginner can get by on Bench, squat, deadlift, row. As they get more advanced; vertical press, pullup, and then comes all the isolation and assistance work. If you cant do a BW pullup, or better yet 10+ pullups, all the curls and straight arm pulldowns in the world aren’t gonna do anything.

i’m sorry… i think i may have failed to articulate myself properly in my first post… let’s examine the clean and jerk, shall we? obviously, the clean and jerk is a complex movement that can be broken down into more basic parts (deadlift, upright row, front squat, overhead press.) to build size and shape most efficiently, would it be advantageous to practice the clean and jerk, as it is, with as high a volume as one can tolerate? or is breaking it down into its composite parts and working them separately more desireable?

because, i gotta tell you, i did a little experiment in the gym the other day in which i tripled my usual volume in the clean and jerk… just to see how it would turn out. ultimately, i can say that it was probably the hardest thing i’ve ever done in the gym… but it failed to make me sore… which leads me to believe that perhaps breaking down these complex movements into their requisite ingredients may be the way to go… for appearance’s sake, anyway…