Ferruggia vs. Thib

Hello all.

I was wondering if any of you have tried Jason Ferruggia’s “Get Jacked” programs. The routine intrigued me due to rather low volume, and I have usually been more of a high volume type of guy, following a lot of Thib’s stuff.

Lately though, I seem to always get shoulder pain or injure something when I go through Thib’s plans, especially from the one’s in his Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde book. It just seems like the volume is too much for me. The programs always seem to work, but after a few weeks, I get joint pain all over as well as some other injuries (pulled and strained muscles, etc).

Because of all this, I am considering trying the opposite of Thib’s higher volume training methods, which to me would be Ferruggia’s stuff. But I don’t want to put myself at risk of losing hard earned muscle. I have been training for a little over 3 years and have developed a moderate physique at 5’10", 200 lbs. with 10% bf.

I am wondering if Ferruggia’s more basic plans would work for me. I know they would work for beginners, but I’m not sure if they would be beneficial to me. Higher volume programs have always worked for me, until I eventually get hurt. So I guess they didn’t really work.

I don’t really want to start another volume debate, so my main question is if I can still get size and strength gains from a very low volume whole body routine consisting of 3-4 lifts a workout and only three workouts a week when I am used to high volume split training.

Thanks guys for wise council
ajweins

How can ANYONE ELSE tell you what will work for YOUR BODY? This is a serious question.

Are people around here so brainwashed that they think: “High volume wrecks my body. But an article says I should do high volume. So I’d better just keep doing high volume.”