T Nation

Ferocious Velocity!

Hey everyone, in my pursuit for Mass and Strength, I have neglected working on my speed.

I’m a martial artist, and I am the fastest student in my school. I’m looking for Mind Blowing speed and power as a martial artist.

Do you guys have any advice or direction? For nothing short of Mind Boggling Ferocious Velocity???

Westside methods should give explosive power. Olympic lifts. Possibly olympic lifts with a westside lifting protocol. ie: the speed and max effort days centered around cleans etc. Try execises such as bench throws. Pylometrics is worth a shot. Another nasty thing you could try is starting your lifts in the bottom possition. Example: Bench in a power cage but set the bars up just above your chest and START in that possition. Explosive possitive, return the bar to the safety bars and let 4 secs pass to let the myotatic response disipate then do another rep. Try sets of 3 with 60% of your 1 rep max so you can get phenomenal bar speed. These are just some ideas I’m sure there are better ones from the other members. Lastly ask Coach Davies I know he has some serious punishment to increase your speed. nkeago. :slight_smile:

I would highly recommend getting a hold of Coach Sonnon or Coach Davies as. 

I believe Compensatory Acceleration Training would be of great help. It basically involves using a submaximal percentage of your max weight, and accelerating it during the concentric portion of the lift. A word of caution… toward the end of the lift, consciously slow it down. The last thing you need to do is pop yourself in the jaw with a dumbell during a bicep curl.

I think a modified Westside would work well for you. What you have to remember about Westside training is that it’s geared for maximal strength development. While this training does offer increased explosive power this is just a side benefit. Remember to think specificity in all things, particularly while training for a sport.