T Nation

Feeling Worn Out...

I've been training every week for the past 3-4 months without any breaks and I'm starting to feel run down. I went to do chest this morning and I just felt very tight, my bones/joints were somewhat achy and I had a pain in the palm of my hand. I just don't feel 100%.

I'm bulking right now and I've gone from 205 to 225ish in about a month in a half with some decent strength gains. But now I feel like I'm just on this treadmill and I need to just relax for a week.

Two questions:

1.) Good idea to take a break?

2.) What should my nutrition look like should I decide to take a week off, assuming I was and will continue bulking when I go back to the gym.

Always,Always,Always, Listen to your body. It is the best training partner you have. It gives the best advise,if you listen to it. I am currently taking a two week break to fully recover. I am also going out of state on vacation(blah!blah!)

As for eating habits, I would cut down on some of the calories during this time off or your body will turn it into fat. Taking time to recover is probably exactly what your body needs not only to recover but to grow and get stronger.

After returning to the gym you will probably notice a difference in your lifts. More than likely for the better. Training is like working, your body needs to take a vacation now and then. And dont worry you will not deflate like a tire. You will probably be bigger and stronger for the break... Good Luck..

It sounds like you might have bulked too fast. But congrats on the weight and strength gains if you're happy. Maybe changing something in your workout is all your body needs to get back into training. Especially if you've been training with the same program the whole time.

If you do plan on taking a week off I wouldn't change anything with your diet. One week isn't all that long, and if you plan on jumping right back in to bulking I think you'll be fine.